Home

About FM

Objectives

Bylaws

Chapters

Upcoming
Symposia


Newsletters

State Mineral Index

Letter from the president of FM

Educational Display Case Awards

Best Article Awards

Links

Membership
Application

Board of Directors

Contact Us

friends of mineralogy logo
Welcome to FM
Regional Chapters
Chapter Contacts and Upcoming Chapter Symposia

Colorado Chapter

For Chapter information, contact
President: Jeff Self; E-mail: selfawareminerals@gmail.com.
Vice-President: Robert “Bob” Hembree; Email: rhembree@comcast.net.
Secretary: Alan Keimig, 303-755-9604; E-mail: alan.keimig@gmail.com.
Treasurer: Gloria Staebler, 303-495-5521; E-mail: gastaebler@aol.com. Newsletter editor: Pete Modreski, 303-202-4766; E-mail: pmodreski@aol.com.

The Colorado Chapter of Friends of Mineralogy meets bimonthly in Jan-Mar-May-Sep-Nov, normally on the 2nd Thursday of the month, in the VIP Room at the Denver Museum of Nature and Science, City Park, Colorado Boulevard, Denver.  Annual dues (which include national membership in Friends of Mineralogy) are $13. Meeting dates and speakers for each year can be found on the chapter website.  In addition, an annual silent - voice auction of minerals and related materials, is traditionally held the second weekend in May at the Clement Community Center, 1580 Yarrow St., Lakewood, CO, 12 noon to 3 p.m.  This auction, similar to all our meetings, is open to non-members to buy and sell/donate.

Chapter website: http://friendsofmineralogycolorado.org/.
Chapter mailing addres: PO Box 234, Arvada, CO 80001


Midwest Chapter

For Chapter information, contact Clyde Spencer; c_spencer123@att.net.

Chapter website: www.fommidwest.org


New Jersey Chapter

For Chapter information, contact NJ Chapter President Dave Shapiro; DShapiro33@gmail.com.

Chapter website at: https://fomnj.wordpress.com/.


Pacific Northwest Chapter

For Chapter information, contact Bruce Kelley, President, E-mail: bruce.kelley@gmail.com

Chapter Website: www.pnwfm.org

Symposia: Minerals of Morocco, October 13 – 15, 2017, Red Lion Hotel, Kelso-Longview, WA.

Current projects include update of Washington State Locality Index and an Oregon State Locality Index to provide information on rare minerals and obscure localities, please contact Aaron Wieting (Oregon) pdxpounder@hotmail.com, and John Lindell (Washington) lindell4@aol.com


Pennsylvania Chapter

For Chapter information, contact: Joseph Marchesani, President, email: Jmarch06@comcast.net. or Arnold Mogel, President, 570-739-4034, email: Pioche@Verizon.net.

Chapter website: www.rasloto.com/FM/

Order now! Reminiscences of a Mineralogist by Arthur Montgomery.  Price: $6+$3 S&H.  Order from: Doug Rambo, 105 Delaware Ave, Wilmington, DE 19803; E-mail: drambo417@comcast.net.


Southern California Chapter

For Chapter information, contact Dr Don Buchanan, President, 220 South Buena Vista St., Redlands, CA; Tel. 909-781-9310; E-mail: dbuch7326@aol.com;

Chapter website: http://www.mineralsocal.org/scfm/index.html, features Minerals of California on-line..


Mississippi Valley Chapter

For Chapter information, contact Larry Nuelle, President, lnuelle@shawneelink.net; or Bruce Stinemetz, Past President; 816-795-1641; Email: bruce.stinemetz@ssa.gov


Tucson Gem and Mineral Society

Contact, TGMS Office at tgms@tgms.org

TGMS is not a Friends of Mineralogy chapter, but TGMS and FM have similar missions and also work together to produce a Symposium at the Tucson Gem and Mineral Show® each February.


Friends of Mineralogy - National Members "at-large"

See membership application if you live away from one of the chapters listed above.



The Friends of Mineralogy is affiliated with Mindat.org, the Mineralogical Society of America (MSA), Mineralogical Association of Canada (MAC),the American Geosciences Institute (AGI), The Mineralogical Record magazine, and Rocks & Minerals magazine.

Copyright FM 2002-2017.  Send submissions, updates, or corrections to Jim Etzwiler.
Web page updated March 2017.