Regional Chapters

Regional Chapter Contacts


Colorado Chapter

For Chapter information, contact
President: Jeff Self; E-mail: selfawareminerals@gmail.com
Vice-President: Robert “Bob” Hembree; Email: rhembree@comcast.net
Secretary: unfilled
Treasurer: Gloria Staebler, 303-495-5521; E-mail: gastaebler@aol.com
Newsletter Editor: Pete Modreski, 303-202-4766; E-mail: pmodreski@aol.com

The Colorado Chapter of Friends of Mineralogy meets bimonthly in Jan-Mar-May-Sep-Nov, normally on the 2nd Thursday of the month, in the VIP Room at the Denver Museum of Nature and 0Science, City Park, Colorado Boulevard, Denver.  Annual dues (which include national membership in Friends of Mineralogy) are $13. Meeting dates and speakers for each year can be found on 09the chapter website.  In addition, an annual silent – voice auction of minerals and related materials, is traditionally held the second weekend in May at the Clement Community Center, 1580 Yarrow St., Lakewood, CO, 12 noon to 3 p.m.  This auction, similar to all our meetings, is open to non-members to buy and sell/donate.

Chapter website: http://friendsofmineralogycolorado.org/.
Chapter mailing address: PO Box 234, Arvada, CO 80001


Midwest Chapter

For Chapter information, contact:

Chapter website: www.fommidwest.org


Mississippi Valley Chapter

For Chapter information, contact Larry Nuelle, President, lnuelle@shawneelink.net; or Bruce Stinemetz, Past President; 816-795-1641; Email: bruce.stinemetz@ssa.gov


New Jersey Chapter

For Chapter information, contact NJ Chapter President Dave Shapiro: DShapiro33@gmail.com.

Chapter website at: https://fomnj.wordpress.com/.


Pacific Northwest Chapter

For Chapter information, contact Bruce Kelley, President, E-mail: bruce.kelley@gmail.com.

Chapter Website: www.pnwfm.org

Symposia: “Minerals of the Pacific Northwest”, October 13 – 15, 2017, Red Lion Hotel, Kelso-Longview, WA.

Current projects include update of Washington State Locality Index and an Oregon State Locality Index to provide information on rare minerals and obscure localities, please contact Aaron Wieting.

(Oregon) pdxpounder@hotmail.com, and John Lindell (Washington) lindell4@aol.com.


Pennsylvania Chapter

For Chapter information, contact: Joseph Marchesani, President, email: Jmarch06@comcast.net. or Arnold Mogel, Past- President, 570-739-4034, email: Pioche@Verizon.net.

Chapter website: www.rasloto.com/FM/.

Order now! Reminiscences of a Mineralogist by Arthur Montgomery.  Price: $6+$3 S&H.  Order from: Doug Rambo, 105 Delaware Ave, Wilmington, DE 19803; E-mail: drambo417@comcast.net.


Southern California Chapter

For Chapter information, contact Dr Don Buchanan, President, 220 South Buena Vista St., Redlands, CA; Tel. 909-781-9310; E-mail: dbuch7326@aol.com.


Tucson Gem and Mineral Society

Contact, TGMS Office at tgms@tgms.org or visit their website: www.tgms.org

TGMS is not a Friends of Mineralogy chapter, but TGMS and FM have similar missions and also work together to produce a Symposium at the Tucson Gem and Mineral Show® each February.


The Greater Denver Area Gem and Mineral Council

Info about the Denver Show and Council can be found on their website: http://www.denvermineralshow.com/

The Greater Denver Area gem and Mineral Council sponsors the Denver Gem and Mineral Show which is organized independently by the Denver Gem and Mineral Show Committee. Although the GDAGMC is not a Friends of Mineralogy Chapter, it is a 501c(3) educational organization. The Denver Gem and Mineral Show has in times past hosted (not sponsored) one-day symposia of the Friends of Mineralogy, Colorado Chapter.


Friends of Mineralogy – National Members “at-large”

See membership application if you live away from one of the chapters listed above.